The glint of steel, so sharp and smooth,

beneath my fragile fingers.

Delicate inlaid patterns reflect

an afterimage that lingers.


As a child I’d hide beneath cotton sheets

feigning death, that I could deceive.

Then risking a peep from beneath my shield,

oh, how my poor young heart grieved.


For in the corner of my eye

and with a silent cry,

it was watching.


Who might it be and what does it want,

this eternally elusive guest?

A featureless face on the fleeting form,

silence is all I can wrest.


For many long hours and countless years,

I pondered its persistent gaze.

I sense no malice; no dark intent

and yet, it remains, unfazed.


In the corner of my eye,

and with a silent cry,

just watching.


And now as I drown in the depths of despair,

it reflects in the cold steel’s knell.

Has it waited for the day that I kiss the bold blade

and bid my torment farewell?


Come, silent stranger, you need no longer hide

as my time is finally here.

Have you nothing to say, will you lead the way,

for, as I, you have nothing to fear?


With no cutting remark,

it stays there, in the dark.


Just waiting?



Written by Darren Scanlon, 15th June 2015.

©2015 Darren Scanlon. All rights reserved.


Darren Scanlon on LinkedinDarren Scanlon on TwitterDarren Scanlon on Wordpress
Darren Scanlon

Darren Scanlon was born in 1965 and still lives in the English Northwest.

His sarcastic, tongue-in-cheek humour and writing style has earned him 5 Star Ratings on Amazon for both his novels and his poetry. He has been writing poetry since the age of 16 and is published on many websites including 'High On Poems', where he has received great reviews:

"We at High On Poems are blessed to have found such a treasure as you amongst our midst. Your poetry is thought provoking and shakes one up. You obviously are a powerful wielder of words!"

His work to date includes:

"Hey Up, Matron!", a laugh-out-loud, roller-coaster ride through a day in the life of a NHS hospital ward from the point of view of the long-suffering patients.

Two books into the gritty crime/gangster thriller, the 'Danny Roberts Series' – "Broken Angel" & "Broken Wings".

"Positively Poetic Vol 1, 2, 3 & 4", four volumes of poetry exploring many and various moods and subjects.

"A Mouse’s Tale", an illustrated children’s novel, (based on one of his own poems).

"Alphabet Zoo", an illustrated children’s ABC book.

"The Book Of Loops And Laughter", an illustrated collection of funny poems for children and adults of all ages.

Future projects include:

"Way Back When", a comical look at childhood now and back in the 1970’s and how life has changed.

"Book 3 of the 'Danny Roberts' series.

For full details of all my work, please visit my website,

©2020 part of the #Promocave Family


Send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials


Forgot your details?


Create Account